World-class surgeon honoured

21 Dec 2022

A/Professor Andrew Chang’s first thought, when told this month he was to receive the APVRS Tano Lecture Award for services to ophthalmology in Australia, was “my colleague and mentors at Sydney Eye Hospital share this with me.

“I feel very humbled to receive this honour and for the experience gained at Sydney Eye Hospital, one of the leading eye hospitals of the world.”

The award is made annually by the Asia-Pacific Vitreo-retina Society (APVRS) for exemplary leadership and significant contribution in advancing the understanding, diagnosis, and treatment of vitreoretinal diseases.

APVRS Award 2022 A Chang

It is named in memory of the highly esteemed Japanese retinal surgeon, Professor Yasuo Tano, the founding president of the society.

A/Prof Chang is a world-class vitreo-retinal surgeon, a renowned teacher, and an accomplished researcher. He is head of ophthalmology at the Sydney Eye Hospital, secretary-general of the Asia Pacific Vitreoretinal Society (APVRS), council member of APAO, and section editor of Asia-Pacific Journal of Ophthalmology (APJO).

In addition, he oversees the training of next generation ophthalmologists. His dedication over the last 25 years to the training of young ophthalmologists from around the world was recognised when he received the Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Ophthalmologists (RANZCO) Teaching Award.

The 15th APVRS Tano Award Lecture

A/Prof Chang is also president of the Sydney Eye Hospital Foundation, which funds ophthalmology fellowships as well as supporting new technology, equipment, and research.

Our sincere thanks are extended to A/Professor Chang for his leadership and to the medical teams at Sydney Eye Hospital for their dedication to helping patients and in training the next generation of specialists.

The APVRS Tano Lecture honours Andrew Change

The APVRS Tano Lecture honours Andrew Change

A/Prof Chang is a world-class vitreo-retinal surgeon, a great teacher and an accomplished researcher. He is the current Head of Ophthalmolo...